Home > Politics, Purely Opinion > Quick defense of my Ron Paul opinion.

Quick defense of my Ron Paul opinion.

In addition to my sticker stating that Obama is an idiot, I also have this sticker on the back of my car:

I, for some reason, get A LOT of flack for this sticker. Save for some pissed off and crazy liberal’s that yell profanities at me in traffic, more people comment on this sticker than the IDIOT sticker! Republican’s and Democrat’s alike seem to think I am out of my mind for supporting someone as “goofy” and as “inconsequential” as Ron Paul. So, my fellow citizen’s, let me explain my reasoning for throwing my support behind Mr. Paul.

 Ron Paul is not, and has never been, a scummy “modern politician” – as I like to call them. Save for those crazy and very mean people who smell like body odor and crack in line at insane clown posse, these modern politician’s we have are my least favorite people on this planet. They gross me out, they make me nauseous, and they definitely don’t have the country’s best interest’s at heart. To quote a quite beloved Christmas story of mine, I wouldn’t touch one with a thirty-nine-and-a-half foot pole. Mr. Paul has fought tirelessly to restore the original political values of our country. He always refer’s to himself as a statesmen, and not a politician. A good and recent quote: “A politician thinks of the next election. A statesmen, of the next generation.” Here’s another good one on why he is excluded from my definition of a modern politician: ” When the federal government spends more each year than it collects in tax revenues, it has three choices: It can raise taxes, print money, or borrow money. While these actions may benefit politicians, all three options are bad for average Americans.” I mean, what is not to like about those statements, he is not goofy, he just hasn’t fallen in line with what a politician is today; only concerned with themselves and how much power and money they can gain. Maybe that is weird by the new standard of politician, but it is certainly not something he should continuously be scorned for!

A lot of people think I am dumb for supporting a foreign policy like Ron Paul’s. While I do believe that obviously war is sometime’s necessary, I do not see the problem with keeping our noses out of other countries business until they directly attack, effect, or pose a threat to our homeland. For example, here’s another Paul quote: “Everyone assumes America must play the leading role in crafting some settlement or compromise between the Israelis and the Palestinians. But Jefferson, Madison, and Washington explicitly warned against involving ourselves in foreign conflicts.” I agree completely. Until ither of those places is a direct threat to the homeland, why do we have to be involved? I am really asking that question, feel free to leave your answer in the comments. But personally, I am of the opinion that until we are messed with, we do not need to mess with anyone else. This goes for Syria, Libya, Cuba, Tatooine, Mordor, or wherever the hell something is happening. We need to pump our defense money into making OUR troops and OUR borders stronger. This way, when there is a threat to America, imagine how strong our military and our borders would be if we solely spent defense money on ourselves? Another quote: “How did we win the election in the year 2000? We talked about a humble foreign policy: No nation-building; don’t police the world. That’s conservative, it’s Republican, it’s pro-American – it follows the founding fathers. And, besides, it follows the Constitution.” “I am just absolutely convinced that the best formula for giving us peace and preserving the American way of life is freedom, limited government, and minding our own business overseas.”

I am also of the opinion that the media is extremely unfair to Ron Paul. They, first of all, barely cover him at all. And when they do, it is as a goof ball with off-the-wall, irrelevant causes and opinions. Ron Paul has the most Constitutional views and stances of ANY CANDIDATE FOR PRESIDENT right now. Once again, I will back this bold statement with a direct quote from the man himself: “I will always vote what I have promised, and always vote the Constitution, as well as I will not vote for one single penny that isn’t paid for, because debt is the monster, debt is what’s going to eat us up and that is why our economy is on the brink.” He has not lost sight of what the Founding Father’s believed in. He is the one person who constantly fights for, quotes, and supports the Constitution.  “The moral and constitutional obligations of our representatives in Washington are to protect our liberty, not coddle the world, precipitating no-win wars, while bringing bankruptcy and economic turmoil to our people.” I mean, I can go on and on with quotes from Mr. Paul constantly siting the Constitution, small government, the Founding Fathers, personal liberty, and the value of the citizen’s over the politician’s.

In my very humble, though often times correct, opinion if you see Ron Paul as a goofy, irrelevant wacko you have been manipulated by a media that is hellbent on protecting large government, shredding the Constitution, and encouraging discourse in America. Though I am aware Ron Paul has said some questionable things in the past, I would be TERRIFIED to look deeply in the past lives and quotes of Obama and Romney. Ron Paul is the only person who will endlessly defend and protect the Constitution and what this country was founded on, as will I. So there you have it, that is why I like Ron Paul. You either love Ron Paul, or you don’t understand him.

  1. WillD
    August 1, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I can agree that Ron Paul is better than most. Especially the establishment Republicans. I like that you’re not afraid to support someone who will lose. You often have to lose some battles in order to win the war.

    I wouldn’t say we “won” in 2000. George W. Bush was a horrible president. Bill Clinton, whom I despise, was WAY better than Bush. Bush set all the records for spending while in office. I don’t get why it was okay for Bush to set spending records, but it’s not okay for Obama to do it. Sounds like a double standard to me.

  2. August 2, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Thank you! I wish more people would actually research their candidate before just supporting someone who belong’s to their party.

    And we did literally win in 2000… little did we know spending record’s would be set. I never said it was ok for Bush to spend as outrageously as he did. I was merely using that quote to support Ron Paul’s foreign policy idea’s, because much of Bush’s platform, ironically, was a very humble foreign policy and people liked that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

